Tarot & Your Angels: How They Work Together

Posted on May 25, 2016

The tarot is full of answers to your deepest and most personal questions — on love, compatibility, financial success and almost any other area of your life. In fact, some people base their entire belief system on the archetypal images of tarot cards.

We′ll start with a few basics, for those of you who are new to the tarot. The deck of cards is divided into two main parts: the major arcana (sometimes called trumps), and the minor arcana. Traditionally, the major arcana cards have images on them, while the minor arcana only have ‘pips′, not unlike our modern-day playing cards. In fact, a deck of cards is pretty much the same as the minor arcana of the tarot, with just a few subtle changes.

Related: Get Your Free Daily Tarot Reading

There are four archangels in your tarot cards. They′re featured on the Lovers card, the Temperance card, the Devil card and the Judgement card. These powerful angelic presences have come to help guide you through the tarot — and through your life.

The Lovers

Raphael: The Healer

The first card in the major arcana with an angelic presence is card VI, The Lovers. It features the archangel Raphael (The Healer of God) watching over the two figures in the image as they join together in union. Raphael provides guidance for the blind, the sick, the healing arts, travellers, and of course, lovers.

While the Lovers card frequently points to romance, its main meaning is that of having a choice.

Call on Raphael when you′re dealing with some kind of life-changing decision, whether it is an evolution to something different, or a temptation in your life that needs to be avoided. He can provide the proper guidance.


Gabriel: The Mighty One

Next we come to Gabriel. This archangel is on tarot card number XIV, Temperance. Gabriel is called The Mighty one of God, and is the messenger of prophecy, dreams, resurrection and revelation.

The Temperance card draws your attention to bringing balance to things in your life, and to hear the messages that are being sent to you from the angels.

Gabriel was the messenger of God, and brings a message here too, reminding you that everything needs to be tempered and balanced.

Seek out Gabriel′s guidance when you need some patience during a trying period in your life, so that you don′t turn a manageable challenge into an unnecessary drama.

The Devil

Uriel: The Fire

Then we come to a card that may not be particularly pleasant for you to look at, and it may even shock you when it shows up in your tarot reading. But when you understand it, you′ll find it′s not as scary as it might first appear.

Even though the main figure on card number XV, The Devil, looks pretty intense, the actual meaning of the card is all about breaking the chains that bind you in your everyday life. Uriel is the archangel here. Uriel is the Fire of God, and in this case he brings a cleansing fire to purge what is restricting you from your life, so you can once again move forward.

When you′re confronted with a frightening situation, call on Uriel. He′s here for you when you′re ready to face your fears, or you need to break free of a confining situation.


Michael: The Defender

The last card in the major arcana that has an angel on it is card XX, Judgement. Here the archangel is Michael — and he′s actually one of my favorites.

He′s the Defender of God, and the Angel of the Dead. It was his job to extend down his mighty sword so that the lost souls could find their way to heaven—and this resurrection is clearly indicated in the images on the Judgement card. When this card comes to you, it′s bringing to you a message that it′s time to forgive yourself and start over, time to embrace an evolution of some sort.

Ask Michael to send down his sword, and help you make the transformation out of what is old and stale, so that you can embrace the newness that is waiting for you.

The World

The World

There′s one final major arcana card that has all four of the archangels on it, and that′s card XXI: The World.

The tarot card representing The World features one angel in each corner, unlike the rest of the major arcana angel tarot cards.

However, if you take a closer look at your minor arcana cards, you′ll see hints of the angels there as well.

Sometimes they are disguised a bit, and you′ll have to look carefully for them, but they′re there, and they always represent divine messengers in every tarot reading.

Read: What to do if Tarot Gives You Bad News

Trust the Angels

The cards that picture angels on them are there to assure you that your guardian angels are there to help you through your challenges. The angels want you to succeed, and they′re sending you messages to guide you in the right direction. Just remember, when you start to feel your peace of mind slip, close your eyes, take a deep breath, and trust the angels.

Did you enjoy this article? Please share it with your friends!