7 Facts About the Heart Chakra You Should Know

Posted on April 18, 2017

You′ve probably heard a bit about chakras, especially if you go to yoga regularly. Chakras are important to your health and well-being because they′re the energy centers that help keep all areas of your life in balance.The chakras depicted as wheels—in fact, the word chakra comes from the Sanskrit word for wheel.

They start at the base of your spine and go up to the top of your head. You know when they need healing because areas of your life become disorganized and out of harmony. We′re going to take a look at the heart chakra and the clues that it needs a tune up.

1) Where is the Heart Chakra?

The heart chakra is in the middle of the chest, right by the heart. It′s also in the middle chakra. It′s where the three lower chakras (solar plexus, sacral, and root) meet the three higher chakras (throat, third-eye, and crown). It resonates with the musical note of F.

The heart chakra influences so many areas of your life. Of course, being the heart center, it has to do with love, but this is more of the universal love, rather than a focus on romantic love that deals with partnerships and intimacy. It′s here you develop kindness and forgiveness.

It′s here you make peace with the past and move forward with a sense of calm determination. This area also rules your heart and your respiratory systems. It cannot be stressed enough that, should you feel any physical discomfort or illness, you must see your healthcare provider. The heart is too important to be trifled with.

2) What Color is the Heart Chakra?

Keep in mind that the chakras are energy centers, and not physical areas of your body. Each of these areas vibrates to a specific level, which is what gives them their colors and their music notes. The heart chakra resonates with all shades of green. Green helps you to unwind so that it′s easier for you to develop your understanding and empathy. Malachite and jasper are excellent heart chakra crystals.

You can do a lot to align this area by using green colors. Green crystals, green jewelry, even green clothing will be advantageous. Suitable stones are jade, malachite, and aventurine, but there are some pink stones like rose quartz and rhodochrosite which are suitable. If you use reiki healing stones, choose the green one.

Pink is also accepted as a heart chakra color. Pink is considered to be the color of love, even though it′s only a secondary heart chakra color. Pink brings you into contact with your true feelings and helps you to release pain and past heartache.

If you have a chakra pendulum and want to use it for healing, focus on the green color band. Envision the harmonious vibrations flowing through your pendulum and into your heart chakra. You′ll get the most benefit if you do this every day until you start to feel better.

3) What is the Normal Function of the Heart Chakra?

The heart chakra is the energy center that has to do with compassion and understanding. It′s where forgiveness is found and kindness rules. It′s all about love, but not the romantic attraction that sometimes arises from ego. It is the unconditional love that the universe has for all its children.

It′s where the physical and the spiritual meet, where you make choices based not just on your gut feelings or instincts, but where intuition takes you to a place of appreciation for all sides of the situation. It′s here that body, mind, and spirit all connect.

When this area is balanced, you′re at peace with your life and your heart is filled with joy. You easily take responsibility for yourself and your actions. You see the blessings in your life, and you appreciate what you have. There is neither longing nor sadness over what you don′t have.

Overall, you′re content and your relationships are healthy, never overbearing or uncomfortable. Your heart chakra lets you feel love You won′t be hardened, angry, or feel bitter against people and the world when it′s open, aligned, and healthy. You will feel love and generosity toward the world.

Related Article: 7 Facts About the Solar Plexus Chakra and How to Tune it

Page 1/2

Did you enjoy this article? Please share it with your friends!

Charla Stone

Hi! I’m Charla Stone and I learned astrology and mysticism way back in the 1970s. I've spent the last four decades using the stars, tarot, runes, crystals, totems, and more to bring light and guidance to others. I’m just an old hippie at heart who has traveled the world to learn of its cultures. I’ve been published online and in print—which still rather surprises me, as this isn’t something I do, it’s just who I am! When I’m not writing or doing readings, I’m spending time in my garden or the art studio, or with my beloved dogs. Read More by Charla Stone