Is Your Sun Sign Cardinal, Mutable, or Fixed & What Does That Mean?

Posted on November 27, 2018
Updated on October 18, 2020

In astrology, the 12 zodiac signs are divided into 3 groups (each having 4 signs) based upon the sign’s quality. According to astrologer Joanna Martine Woolfolk, “the quality signifies the sign’s interaction with the outside world.” There are 3 qualities: Cardinal, Fixed, and Mutable.

Understanding what each quality means can help you deepen your understanding of your own zodiac sign, your understanding of yourself, and of the other zodiac signs as well. Today, we’ll walk you through which signs are which quality and what each quality means.

What Are the Cardinal Signs?

Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn

The Cardinal signs are the ones that begin each of the 4 seasons, which represents their initiative, catalytic personalities. Cancer, Capricorn, Libra and Aries are all Cardinal signs and one sign of each of the four elements is represented. That also means any of these signs can easily butt heads because they want to take the lead.

Cardinal signs are leaders; they’re the ones who tend to start companies, launch new creative ideas that initiate big change, and take the lead in society. They are undoubtedly focused on the big picture and are confident in their ability to learn new skills or start projects. You can rely on them if you need someone who will see could go right instead of what could go wrong. They are inspiring people you can count on to help you make major life decisions.

If you’re looking to partner with someone who is also a Cardinal sign or work closely with a Cardinal sign, you can manage the relationship best by letting them take the lead or communicating about what their ideas are and giving them some independence. A Cardinal sign doesn’t like to be controlled or micromanaged. Complimenting their ability to be self-directed and showing admiration for their ability to take on new things courageously can build a stronger bond and melt tension.

What Are the Fixed Signs?

Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius

Fixed signs are the most loyal signs and can be relied on as long-term best friends, business partners or romantic partners. They are not swayed when unexpected life things come up and will be there when you need them. It’s good to know that these are the people who won’t judge you when you yourself go through things in life and they are the ones to call when you need some support.

A Fixed sign tends to be resistant to change, making moves only when they’ve developed a well thought out plan. They are steady and reliable people that stick to their word. When a Fixed sign sets their mind on an idea, they become totally focused on it, sometimes to the point of obsession, in order to accomplish things. They can be single-minded in order to reach their goals, so if they seem distracted it may be because they aren’t able to multi-task as all their energy is on one thing intently.

What Are the Mutable Signs?

Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces

If you aren’t a Cardinal or Fixed sign, you must be a Mutable sign. Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces are the Mutable signs that bring the end of each season. Mutable signs are flexible, able to adapt and go with the flow. If you have too many rigid people on a team, it’s hard to get anything done. They let the wind blow them where it will and typically thrive on change. They can be fickle or spontaneous making them less reliable when it comes to sticking to a plan, but if you need someone to come through for you last minute, call a Mutable sign.

Concluding Thoughts…

As you learn astrology you’ll see the many layers of yourself that make up who you are. It’s exciting to see why each of us are different and how we are similar even though we have stark differences. Getting along with people is certainly a lot easier and a lot more fun when you’re armed with the knowledge of the stars.

Related Article: Understanding The Planets in Astrology

Did you enjoy this article? Please share it with your friends!

Shannon Yrizarry has taught metaphysical subjects since 2013 including the deeply esoteric lineage of kundalini yoga. She has worked as a healer, clairvoyant and card reader and… Learn More About The Author »

Next Article

You might also be interested in

Cancer Eclipse Rituals for Love: New Moon Manifestations

Manifesting your dreams can be powerful. Adding a little love astrology to the mix helps give you an extra boost to make it happen more easily. The most commonly used astrological… Read Full Article »

Full Moon in Virgo Horoscopes to Help You Make Full Moon Wishes!

It’s that time again folks! Today is Full Moon day which means it’s also Full Moon wishes day! And, since we have a Full Moon in Virgo this time around, today’s Full Moon is… Read Full Article »

10 Very Aries Birthday Party Ideas

It’s time to wish those with an Aries zodiac sign a happy birthday! Happy birthday, Rams! From March 21 to April 20, we will show our love to all those born under this Fire… Read Full Article »