Your Ultimate Guide to Astrology

Most people know what their zodiac sun sign is. Basically, your sun sign—whether you're a Virgo or you’re a Taurus or any other sign—is determined by the location of the sun at the time of your birth. But why is the sun is so important when it comes to your zodiac sign and birth chart? Why is the sun the main focus for professional and armchair astrologers alike? Well, there’s a good reason.

The sun isn’t actually a planet. It’s the star around which our solar system moves. And, just as the sun is the center of our solar system, you are the center of your life. You see things through your own eyes, you understand things from your own point of view.

The sun’s energy is one of lifeforce and vitality. Without the sun—or even, if the sun was a bit closer or a bit farther from the Earth than it is—life on Earth would be very different from what we experience today, if it existed at all. Just as the sun helps life on the planet Earth, it’s position in your astrology chart will also help you to understand how to make the most of your life.

The sun’s position on your astrology chart shows you where you need to push yourself. This is where it gets interesting. Your date, time, and place of birth places the sun in a specific sign, house, and aspect of the zodiac.

Learn About Sun Signs | Learn About Houses | Learn About Aspects

Sun Signs

There are 12 signs of the zodiac, each one taking up 30 degrees in your birth chart, manking a complete 360 degree circle (30 degrees x 12 signs = 360 degrees). Every astrological sign has a specific set of qualities—positive and negative.

Below are some of the key traits for each sign of each zodiac sign.



Adventurous, Confident, Self-Centered, Impulsive.



Dependable, Strong, Oversensitive, Obstinate.



Communicative, Changeable, Inconsistent, Superficial.



Devoted, Compassionate, Moody, Hesitant.



Vibrant, Assertive, Egotistical, Possessive.



Dependable, Patient, Critical, Judgemental.



Charming, Loving, Indecisive, Lazy.



Passionate, Charismatic, Secretive, Manipulative.



Gregarious, Sociable, Blunt, Restless.



Willful, Serious, Rigid, Demanding.



Intelligent, Humanitarian, Unconventional, Noncommittal.



Romantic, Imaginative, Illusional, Wistful.

Astrology Houses

There are 12 houses in a birth chart, too. But unlike zodiac signs, these don’t always work out to exactly 30 degrees. The size of the house depends on where and when you were born. That’s why astrologers need your time, date, and place of birth.

The sun takes the traits of your sun sign as well as the energies of the houses, which is why why many people with the same sun sign may have very little in common. The house in which your sun falls and the aspects it makes to other planets combine to make you who you are.

Below is a brief description for how the sun behaves in each of the astrological houses.

First House

The First House rules your personality and your countenance. The Sun here will bring you a strong personality, and a lesson in humility.

Second House

The Second House rules your income and how you support yourself. The Sun here will bring you a strong interest in your finances and belongings, and a lesson in not being too materialistic.

Third House

The Third House rules communication and intellect. The Sun here will bring you an interest in all manner of communication, and a caution against too much gossiping.

Fourth House

The Fourth House rules family and traditions. The Sun here will bring family issues — both positive and negative — out in your life.

Fifth House

The Fifth House rules creativity and your leisure time. The Sun here brings luck, and a playful nature, but cautions against getting too egotistical.

Sixth House

The Sixth House rules your daily routine and health matters. The Sun here brings you an interest in your health, and reminds you that life needs a balance of work and play.

A birth chart wheel representing the 12 houses in astrology’s location in a natal chart. There is a purple background and a sun in the center.

Seventh House

The Seventh House rules partnerships; romantic, business, and platonic. The Sun here brings you a need for that special someone, but reminds you not to lose yourself in the process of finding that partner.

Eighth House

The Eighth House rules the occult, and the support you get from other people. The Sun here fills you with intrigue, but cautions you against being too manipulative.

Ninth House

The Ninth House rules philosophy and higher education. The Sun here can bring you a real interest in other cultures, but warns you not to be too superficial in your thirst for knowledge.

Tenth House

The Tenth House rules your career and social standing. The Sun here is a good placement for a great job, but cautions you not to become a workaholic.

Eleventh House

The Eleventh House rules your wishes and your circle of friends. The Sun here brings you the energy and desire to be a social butterfly, but make sure you’re not using others just for your own gain.

Twelfth House

The Twelfth House is the house of endings and hidden things. The Sun here can be a hard taskmaster, for even though you’re probably very interested in the unconscious mind, it can be hard to find your authentic self, because it too his hidden.


Next in understanding your sun sign are the aspects (as if signs and houses weren’t enough). In addition to being in a sign a house, your sun also makes aspects—geometrical angles—to other planets in your birth chart. There are two kinds of aspects:

  • Easy aspects
  • Challenging aspects

You might think that the easy aspects are always positive, but it really doesn’t work like that. A conjunction (where two planets are within a few degrees of the same space in your birth chart) is considered an easy aspect, yet it can get complicated if one planet’s energy is competing with the other.

Similarly, you might think that an opposition is a challenging aspect, but some planets need opposition to bring out their best qualities.

Here are the most common aspects. Don't worry if it gets a bit complicated; there's a lot to take in. Just remember that planets have their own energies, and those energies are influenced by the sun sign and the house that they occupy. If you need a little guidance, you can always speak to our expert astrologers for some help.



A conjunction is just that, when another planet is next to the Sun in your chart, and it can either work with or against the Sun’s energy, to enhance it, or to overshadow it.



This is when the a planet makes a 30° angle to the Sun in your chart. It’s an easy aspect, and usually indicates the potential for the energies of the planets involved to work together.



This is where a planet makes a 90° angle to the Sun in your chart. It’s a challenging aspect, and usually indicates tension. That doesn’t have to be a bad thing, though, because it can force you out of your comfort zone.



This is where a planet makes a 120° angle to the Sun in your chart. It’s an easy aspect, with the two (or more) planets involved working in harmony to bring out the best in each other. Because this aspect is so easy-going, it’s potential is sometimes overlooked.



This is where a planet makes a 150° angle to the Sun in your chart. It’s probably the most challenging aspect, because the two will have absolutely nothing in common with each other. The only way to deal with this aspect is to work on understanding the difficulties that it brings, and then integrating the solution into your life.



This is where a planet is completely opposite where your Sun is in your chart. Although it’s considered to be a trying aspect, it can reveal a lot about your life’s lessons, and what you need to be working on. It mirrors your uncertainties back to you, so you can deal with them and rise above the challenge.